Skip Nav

Islands Of The Caribbean

The Greater Antilles consist of four large islands: Puerto Rico, Hispaniola (containing Haiti and the Dominican Republic), Cuba, and Jamaica. While there is evidence of volcanism in the Greater Antilles, they are, for the most part, a submerged mountain range jutting westward into the Caribbean for over a thousand miles.

Caribbean Islands

Cultural Cradel Of The Caribbean

To the north of Cuba and Hispaniola are the low-lying Bahamian Islands. The whole of that area and the eastern coast of Venezuela are collectively known as the Cultural cradel of the Caribbean. See map for more about the Islands and countries of the caribbean.

Map of the Caribbean Islands